Love Kills Slowly, Best Love Gives Life

As I said last week, I want to revisit a couple recent posts.  But first, let me share something I saw while leaving church last Sunday in Southaven, MS.  A young woman, much younger than the average age of attendees, and of a distinct ethnic group, had a shoulder bag with a large emblem that caught my attention.  Here is the image:Well, does love kill slowly?  This reminded me of the Tuesday meetings I go to while in Madrid, of the Spanish Friends of Archeology, where experts make presentations, followed by a dinner in a nearby restaurant for some 10 -12 people, including the presenter, and my friends Maria Victoria, Maria, and Miguel.  Last summer at one of these dinners, I was interested in the pack of cigarettes one there had.  The whole side of the pack was taken up with “Smoking can kill” on the package.  I took out my pocket camera and photographed it.  He told me, “they say that smoking, (and drinking), kill slowly.  But I say that’s OK, because I’m not in a hurry.”

Well, maybe love kills slowly, but that is OK, because I am not in a hurry.  I will take the time to savor Good Love, and work to make it into Better Love, and appreciate Best Love.  Maria Victoria’s daughter, Yael, shared with me that in Spain, when young people are going to search for something on the internet, they say they are going to “ask Saint Google.”  Keep in mind that in Catholic Spain, every day of the year is associated with at least one saint, and a person’s saint’s day – the day devoted to the saint of their name – is often considered more important than their birthday.

There are many theories of what Ed Hardy meant by “love kills slowly,”  just ask Saint Google.  Maybe it was just a design for a tattoo.  I think Good Love can grow into Better Love, which extends and enhances life, not kills slowly.  And when we get a glimpse of Best Love, we have a glimpse of eternal life.  Maybe I need an image with the slogan “Best Love Gives Life?”

I want to revisit a couple recent posts.  Back on Feb. 4, 2011 I talked about Good Love meaning Good Passion.  And I said that the opposite of love is apathy.  I think likewise, the opposite of passion is apathy.  Passion is enthusiasm, apathy is a lack of enthusiasm, a lack of caring.  The coworker I mentioned in the post on passion, and several others, demonstrate a Good Passion in how they care about their job, in how they want to make a positive difference.  We have all heard a passion described as a “burning” passion, usually referring to sexual desire.  But when I see an employee that truly cares, and is enthusiastic about serving, I think “burning passion” is an apt description.  And I love the image I get thinking of the terminology used by firemen.  When a fireman arrives at a fire, and the building is completely in flames, he says that the building, the fire, is “fully involved.”  What a wonderful way to describe someone with a Good Passion for serving, who cares – they are “fully involved.”

Isn’t that how we want those we share relationships with to be with us, how we want to be with them – fully involved?

Back on Jan. 28, 2011, I talked about Love Slaves, and a church in Madrid with an “S” pierced by a nail carved on the door jambs, signifying “es-clavo,” or “slave” in Spanish.  Well the church in question is San Gines.  This is one of the oldest churches in Madrid.  The earliest documents that mention it are from the 9th century.  The main chapel was constructed in 1453, and the present building is from a reform in 1645.

I like the fact that one of the chapels inside the church is the Chapel of Solitude (Loneliness).  But after visiting the Chapel of Loneliness, You can visit the Chapel of the Virgin of Beautiful Love.  And if that’s not enough, you can seek refuge in the Chapel of Our Lady of the Remedies (Cures).  But keep in mind, as Leonard Cohen sings, there ain’t no cure for love.

But the most pertinent fact about San Gines has to do with the famous poet Quevedo, who was baptized there in 1580.  Quevedo was a member of the Brotherhood of Slaves of the Blessed Sacrament.  He died in 1645, the same year the present building was erected.  So I think the symbols on the door jambs must refer to this brotherhood – something to investigate on my next trip to Spain.

I repeat – what do you allow yourself to become a slave to?  Who or what do you serve, with passion, and can you consider yourself a good love slave to your employer, to someone you share the goal of Better Love with?  Are you fully involved?

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Kills Slowly, Best Love Gives Life

  1. Pingback: Love Kills Slowly, More Thoughts | Good, Better, Best Love

Leave a Reply

