My First Good Love Contest, Even More on the Heart

My purpose with this blog has been to share my thoughts on Good, Better, Best Love with anyone with an interest, and by doing so, to help me organize my thoughts on the subject.  In addition to putting some structure to my thoughts, I find the writing helps motivate me to put more effort in moving to the right on Gredler’s Love Line, in many different relationships.

Today, I want to try something new and different.  I am initiating a contest, for us all to hopefully have a little fun.  If you have read some of my posts, you already realize that I am a fan of Spain and its culture, and of ancient history.  I also share good books and resources with you.  I recently signed up for Michael Hyatt’s blog, and am working through the development of a (rest of) life plan using his resources.  His post for today discusses sharing the bad along with the good.  His post this past Monday covered guarding your heart (more later).

I talked back on my Valentine’s post that it is always work to share Good Love and grow it into Better Love.  I don’t have all the answers, but I have some.  And more importantly, I want to apply them.  I also mentioned an excellent book by Andy Stanley that I am reading.  Well, Andy mentioned a country western song by Brad Paisley.  This in turn led me to finding the song I had searched for, for several years – ever since I heard it on the car radio on a trip.  You see, this song seemed to sum up my feelings about my high school (not) dating experiences.  The single memorable dating experience back then was getting up the nerve to ask a girl to a concert, her accepting, getting concert tickets, showing up at her house at the appointed time, to have her say she was sorry, but she had made other plans to spend the night at her girlfriend’s house.

Contest Challenge:  be the first to comment to this post with the title of the country western song I thought summed up my high school (not) dating experiences.  Prize:  a mounted bala de honda (sling bullet), a lead projectile from the second century Before Christ, found in a field behind an ancient hill-top Celt Iberian city, from a battle with the Romans as they conquered Spain.  Here is a photo of the shadow box that is the prize in my contest:

In a future post I will talk more about balas de honda.  A recent message by Brother Steve on David and Goliath convinced me I want to share more on this subject.

Now, allow me to mention the heart again.  There are communion tokens, from the 1600’s through the 1800’s, that churches in Scotland used to ensure that those that took part in communion had been properly evaluated and approved by the church to do so.  Interestingly, often the tokens had a verse, Let a man examine himself. (I Cor 11:28)  It didn’t say let the church examine the man.  Other times I Cor 11:24, This do in remembrance of me was on the token.  But the old token I found most interesting is the one that had a heart, and P 4:23 stamped on it.  (I’m sorry I don’t have a photo of it to share.)

This referred to Proverbs 4:23:  Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.  As Michael Hyatt’s blog today states, King Solomon meant by this that our heart “is the source of everything else in your life. Your heart overflows into thoughts, words, and actions.”  The heart is not only the symbol for love, and the source of our Good and Better Love, it is the source of our dreams, our desires, our passions.

So, how do we guard our hearts?  I’ve discussed the statement that The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure.  Who can understand it? (Jer 17:9).  I think that the key to guarding our hearts is to understand that it is deceitful, and using our eyes to see and our ears to hear.  There is a clear division between the wise and the simple or foolish.  That’s the topic for next week.

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Good Love Contest, Even More on the Heart

  1. Pingback: The Sling Was an Important Weapon in Ancient Times | Good, Better, Best Love

Leave a Reply

