The Good Life

This past week I had a couple more discussions of what is a Good Death.  But, I have been thinking more about what is a Good Life.  If we all want Good Love, surely we all want a Good Life even more.

Of course, there are many definitions of the Good Life.  Here in Spain, it is usually associated with good food, which seems logical with the greater emphasis here on long leisurely meals shared with friends.  Another suggested it depends on you seeing the good side of things, that is, tending towards being an optimist.  Juan suggested that what is important is that you are satisfied, content, with what you do.  Another suggested it is to have all that you deserve, including good health.  But the mention of health suggests to me that we often may be experiencing what is the Good Life, and not realize it until something happens to what we take for granted – our health, our family, etc.

Plato said that it is not so important to live to be alive, but to live well.  To me, that means to not just exist, to not accept the mediocre.  And as I have alluded to in the past, will I take two steps forward, make a positive difference?  Or will I wake one day to realize I have arrived at a point of regret, and begin playing “Could have, would have, should have?”

Last night I had a dinner here in Madrid for 12 of my best friends.  The roast lamb was wonderful, but what was really great was sharing Good Memories and thoughts with Good Friends, having Good Times together.  This week I have been thinking that one of the most important parts of Good Love is the sharing.  And that in addition to the love, one of the most important ingredients of Good Love that must be shared is the humor and the laughs.  I mean, deep, profound, authentic laughter.  The kind that leads to more, and at times to tears.

The photo above is the name plate for a restaurant next to Maria Virginia’s house.  El Club de la Vida Buena is the Club of the Good Life.  Last night, sharing so much with many Good Friends, I felt we had formed our own Club of the Good Life, and shared that with them.

I had talked about humor being an important part of love.  When I shared Sternberg’s triangle of love, with the three principle ingredients of love being passion, intimacy, and commitment, I proposed that each of those three parts has something additional and important associated with it.  In order, those are humor, honesty, and forgiveness.  Passion and humor I believe are related, in addition to being essential components of Good Love.

Well, this week’s post is shorter than usual, but I must go meet a friend in Sevilla that so far I only know through email.

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

