Good, Better, Best Love is Back – Chasing Your Dreams

I took the blog offline and took a break from writing a post every Friday for several months.  But I’m back – back in Spain for my annual visit, and back online.Here are two photos I took yesterday in Madrid that represent some of my recent thoughts:  Chasing Your Dreams.  In the top photo, the girls are looking with anticipation and excitement at the huge bubble forming.  But it’s just out of reach, so there is no attempt to catch it yet, just the impatient waiting for the release of the bubble, to allow it to be pursued.  The anticipation heightens the excitement.  And the bubble is like a dream that is within sight, it can be clearly seen, yet it is just out of reach.

The bottom photo shows the pursuit of the dream, with the movement a blur, and the dream about to be touched physically.  The girls are reaching, stretching for the bubble.  How many times while we are chasing our dreams, just as we are about to grasp them, we can see them and almost touch them, but time, circumstances, or a brief touch results in the bubble bursting, and we lose sight of our dreams.  Poof and its gone, it suddenly doesn’t seem like something I can hold on to, take possession of. 

Now there are two girls, who were strangers to each other, yet again, as they shared their common pursuit they not only provided support to one another, but there was a competition as to who could get to the bubble first.  This also added to the excitement, although perhaps it would have been even more pleasurable to be sharing the pursuit with a friend, a friend you had already shared many things with.  It could be a more friendly competition, maybe even with the loser taking some pleasure in the accomplishment of the winner?

When our bubble bursts, do we remain excited and keep anticipating the accomplishment of the dream, or do we give up and withdraw – perhaps to pessimism and depression.  The bubbles always seem to be out of reach, and then just when I think I’m going to grasp one, circumstances and reality burst my bubble.  No, in life in general, as in Good and Better Love, you have to keep your eye on the long term goals as well as the long term commitments.  You have to take two steps forward for every step backwards, and put the past behind you.  But I want to remain excited with the anticipation that I will have the success I dream of.  I strive to dream realistic goals, but to indeed dream and focus on specific goals.  And I need to keep a positive focus on following through.

This is about half the length of my usual post, but the rest of what is on my mind deserves a separate article – more on the tears of Becquer, next week.

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

