Just Do It

do-it-nowI have scanned documents with the XCANEX scanner, and have moved on to some books to be scanned.  I remain convinced that one of the biggest pluses of this scanner is its portability and ability to go anywhere my laptop goes, ie the library.  An article on Scanning 201 is in the works.

Almost everyone is familiar with the Nike advertising slogan “JUST DO IT.”  This slogan helped Nike go from 18% to 43% market share.  Many see the point, related to sports, as being that you must just act, without getting bogged down in thought about the action.  But others say that thought in itself is not bad for the action, it’s just that there must be proper training in how to think.  For me this is close to the mark.

I have shared how in my battles with procrastination I tend to get wrapped up in the research and preparation for the task.  I want to find the best tools and methods and learn all about them when instead I should be applying something now to accomplish the big picture goal.  Or I indeed look at the long term end point goal and find it overwhelming and then get bogged down with thoughts of how will I ever get there, how did I ever think that was a reasonable goal?  Then there is the fear of failing – not getting it all done, or not accomplishing the task to the standard I want.  There are answers to all three, which I will share with you now.

The answer to spending too much time on the preparation is to tell myself – JUST DO IT.  I need to jump in and take some positive steps forward rather than just thinking about getting ready.  One example is my scanning needs for becoming more digital and organized.  I need to learn to jump in more quickly and just do it.  I spent many hours over many years researching the best scanner for my tens of thousands of slides of Spain, and the best way to avoid jams in the automatic batch feeder.  But that’s the subject of another article.

The answer to an overwhelming task is to break it down into manageable pieces.  Every task, no matter how big, is accomplished with small steady steps forward.  It’s like the cliche of how do you eat an elephant? – One bite at a time, although with my scanning maybe it’s one byte at a time.

The answer to the fear of failure is to stay positive and tell yourself you can do it.  I have found that pessimism and negative thinking usually becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy with guaranteed failure.  The funny thing is that likewise optimism and positive thinking usually becomes self-fulfilling as well.  So the choice is, which do you want to come true?  We all need to think more positive.  Even when it doesn’t work out quite as well as you had hoped, the journey is much more enjoyable with the positive outlook.

What about you?  Have you got a goal that’s been sidelined by one or more of the above three impediments to success?  Why not just do it?

Thanks to here for the image.

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Do It

  1. Pingback: Happiness and Perseverance | Good, Better, Best Love

  2. Pingback: Making Mistakes | Good, Better, Best Love

Leave a Reply

