Choices

cautionsI’ve talked about the importance of attitude and being optimistic. Yesterday I heard an old song by Herman’s Hermits, This Door Swings Both Ways. The lyrics caught my attention and I didn’t recall hearing it back in the ‘60’s. It says that every man’s life is a door and you’re not complete until you’ve seen it from both sides. Every day you make a choice – right or wrong, live in happiness or dwell in pain.

We choose every day what we let in and what we take out, which impacts our overall attitude. And that in turn sets the stage for everything going on in our lives. If we dwell on the negative and let it stay in our thoughts, we are in trouble. If we let the emotional vampires suck a disproportionate amount of our good thoughts and feelings out, once again we are in trouble.

There is an American Indian story a grandfather told his grandson. Every man has a battle going on inside between two wolves. The evil wolf is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego. The good wolf is is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion and faith.

When the grandson asks which wolf wins the battle, the grandfather replies that the wolf that you feed wins.

The song I discussed above ends with the thought that we need to make the most of living if we are not prepared to die (full lyrics here). I would go further and say that if I am not making the most of my living, I am accepting mediocrity and a coasting into death.

I continue to battle with procrastination. I spend too much time researching and planning my many various projects to make this decade my best, and to really live. I need to spend more time focusing on a specific project all the way to completion so that the next project can be attacked and seen through to completion as well. It’s easy to get busy and feel busy, but I want to concentrate on accomplishing my goals and objectives.

After all, I don’t want to be like the man who was going to build a tower – “For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not sit down first and count the cost, whether he has enough to finish it—lest, after he has laid the foundation, and is not able to finish, all who see it begin to mock him, saying, ‘This man began to build and was not able to finish.‘” (Luke 14:28-30)

How about you? Which wolf have you fed today? – will you feed tomorrow? We make choices and decisions everyday. Do you think about the end results while considering a choice?

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Choices

  1. stevegredler says:

    mark…best wishes for the holidays…i took a glider ride at Franconia NH in 1992 while attending the Frost Place symposium…

Leave a Reply

