Happy New Year – Setting Goals for 2014

Goal.We’ve been following the five step, five day process for goal setting from Michael Hyatt’s blog on intentional leadership.  In one of of Michael’s video clips leading up to the course, Five Days to Your Best Year Ever, he discusses how detailed action plans are often a fancy way to procrastinate.  Bingo – I shared how that is one of my problems, along with too much research.  Another pitfall to watch out for is too many passions and desires, too many goals or projects.  Once again I tend to have too many irons in the fire at once.

But one of the things that convinced me to make the leap forward and take the course to develop my goals was another observation by Michael: ‘That’s the thing at the end of the day that we all want.  We want a life where we get to the end of our days, we look back, and we say, ‘We left nothing on the field.  We gave it all.  We really achieved what mattered most to us.'”

The thought process started when I needed to develop goals for work, then grew to a more global view.  Getting to the end of life and being able to say I gave it all brought back some memories of the high school cross county team.  I have never run track or cross country, but a group of friends were all on the cross country team, so I signed up.  I never got any instruction on running or pacing myself, but always found myself what seemed hopelessly behind those who were in shape and had experience running cross country through the woods.

One meet with another school, I ended up near the rear of all team members, with one other runner from the other school.  We exited the woods, and started our last lap around the track to finish the race.  Obviously neither one of us wanted to be the dead last, so we went faster and faster till we were sprinting the last lap, with spectators cheering.  But later in the locker room, the coach made an observation to the team that in cross country you should be giving your all throughout the course, and never have saved enough energy at the end to sprint a lap.

That advice fits with Michael Hyatt’s observations on looking back on life and being able to say we gave it our all.  We don’t want to be at the end and think that we were holding back and now there’s no time or there’s no health.  I don’t want regrets for not doing or attempting all those things I’d like to do before the end of the race.  How about you?  If you want to set some goals that will stick and lead to positive action and progress, check out the course on the Five Days to Your Best Year Ever.

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

