The Daisy Oracle – part 3

daisy2The daisy oracle is the game of plucking the petals from a daisy one by one, and saying he loves me, he loves me not, etc. I talked about the history of this game here, and the game goes back to Medieval times. Then I talked about it some more here, and had a picture of a spinner in English of most of the choices in the French version. In France there are five different possibilities in the daisy oracle: he loves me a little, a lot, with passion, madly (he’s crazy about me), and not at all.

A professor by the name of Dr. Mieder has written extensively on the daisy oracle, and provided three other possible versions of the French oracle. (1) he loves me – a little – a lot – scarcely – passionately – constantly – with all his heart – in marriage – not at all. (2) he loves me – a little – a lot – tenderly – constantly – madly – not at all. (3) he loves me – a little – a lot – with love – with imagination – with jealousy – not at all. You can see that the French have many more possibilities for types of love.

An antiques dealer, Jacqueline, shared a German spinner with me and it says on each side: he loves me, with all his heart, with pain, a little, not at all. So there would be four or five possibilities with the German as well, depending on whether he loves me is a separate possibility. In the USA, England, and Spain, there are only two possibilities – you are loved or you are not. So it seems that in France and Germany here are four times as many possibilities to be loved.

In the image above the boy is plucking the petals of the daisy for the girl, while saying “I love you a little, a lot…” So did they only write two of the possible outcomes down? Or has the boy modified the game so that he only either loves her a little or loves her a lot? That way he knows as she looks over his shoulder, he will definitely end the game loving her.

In all those different versions above, there is only one really negative outcome – that you are not loved. But a Russian grandmother shared the version of the game that she played when little: he loves me – he loves me not – he will spit upon me – he will kiss me – he will clasp me to his breast – he will make me go to hell. In Russia there were three negative possibilities.

When I think of all the relationships and stages of marriage I have experienced, there would be most of those choices above, and more – probably as many as there are petals on a daisy. When you have had an argument or breakdown in communication in a marriage, you love your spouse a little. When communication is spot on and you’re both happy, you love your spouse a lot. While loving a lot, sometimes the sparks fly and you love with passion. I’ll leave the mad and crazy love to each’s own imagination. When I think of the form the game would take with my relationship with God, I have different names for the petals too. God’s petals all say “He loves me.”

So what is the answer? The answer is to focus on the positive aspects of the relationship and discard the negative petals. I want to save those positive petals, what about you?

About Mark Gredler

I want to move from Good Love to Better Love, share it, and share the Best Love of God. I like ancient and medieval history, especially of Spain. I like photographing Spanish fiestas, and visiting Romanesque churches, from the 11th to 13th centuries. I enjoy traveling, seeing new places, meeting new friends, taking photographs of that, and want to write more about it all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

